School of the Year

School of the Year

Cambridge University Press has agreed to sponsor a prize for the ‘School of the Year’, to be selected by the UKLO committee. The prize consists of £125 worth of CUP linguistics books, but of course the main bonus is the honour of being selected from a list of 58 schools of very different types.

In 2011, the criteria we applied in selecting the winning school were the following:

  • History: entries to UKLO in 2010 as well as 2011.
  • Breadth: entries at Foundation as well as Advanced level.
  • Achievement: the largest number of candidates in the short list from which we selected the round 2 winners, and which this year included everyone with marks of 50 or over.

The winner

  • 2011 All Saints RC School, York, with two candidates in the shortlist.  We congratulate the school, its pupils and the lead teacher, Mary Piper.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.