IOL results

International Linguistics Olympiad successes

Here is a list of the awards that the UKLO teams have won at the International Linguistics Olympiad:

    • 2021: 1 Bronze, 4 Honourable Mentions, 1 Best answer, 1 team Honourable Mention
    • 2020: no competition because of the pandemic
    • 2019: 3 Gold, 2 Silver, 2 Bronze
    • 2018: 2 Gold, 1 Silver, 3 Bronze, 1 team Bronze, 1 Best answer
    • 2017: 3 Gold, 2 Silver, 1 Team trophy, 2 Team other (2 teams)
    • 2016: 2 Gold, 2 Bronze, 1 other (1 team)
    • 2015:  2 Gold, 1 Silver, 1 Bronze, 1 Team, 3 other (2 teams)
    • 2014: 1 Gold, 1 other (1 team)
    • 2013: 1 Silver, 5 other (2 teams)
    • 2012: 1 Silver, 3 Bronze (1 team)
    • 2011: 1 Bronze, 1 other (1 team)
    • 2010: 1 Bronze, 3 other (1 team)
    • 2009: 1 Bronze (1 team)

2021, Latvia/Greenwich

  • Toby Collins (The Perse School): Bronze
  • Alex Robson (The Judd School): Honourable Mention, Best solution for problem 4
  • Harrison Moore (The Judd School): Honourable Mention
  • Toby Weston (Kings College School): Honourable Mention
  • Aanya Goyal (Alleyn’s School): Honourable Mention
  • Team U (Alex Robson, Barnaby Colvin (The Perse School), Harrison Moore, Toby Weston): Honourable Mention
  • Sam Ahmed (past UKLO competitor and IOL jury member): Best problem (voted by competitors)

2019, Korea

  • Sam Corner (Exeter Mathematics School): Gold and perfect solution to problem 2
  • Simi Hellsten (Bournemouth School): Gold
  • Kilian Meissner (The Perse School, Cambridge): Bronze
  • Harrison Moore (The Judd School): Silver
  • Benedict Randall Shaw (Westminster School): Gold
  • Daniel Turaev (JCoSS): Silver
  • Alex Walker (The Perse School, Cambridge): Bronze

2018, Prague

  • Liam McKnight (Magdalen College School, Oxford): Gold [NB this is his fourth Gold medal, which sets a record at the IOL]
  • Hari Prasad (The Perse School, Cambridge): Bronze
  • Simi Hellsten (Bournemouth School): Silver
  • Benedict Randall Shaw (Westminster School): Gold
  • Sean White (City of London School): Bronze + Best answer + Team Bronze
  • Edmund Lea (Reading School): Bronze + Team Bronze
  • Eleanor Edwards (Withington Girls School): Team Bronze
  • Selina Wang (Burgess Hill Girls): Team Bronze

2017, Dublin – see the press release

  • Sam Ahmed (King’s College School Wimbledon): Top Gold!
  • Liam McKnight (Magdalen College School): Gold!
  • Simi Hellsten (Bournemouth School): Gold!
  • Ben Morris (City of London School): Silver
  • Harry Taylor (Magdalen College School): Silver
  • Team K (Harry Taylor, Kamran Sharifi (Manchester Grammar School), Sam Ahmed and Simi Hellsten): Best team in the individual competition, winning the Blue Trophy, on which their names will be engraved. The actual trophy is a new one because the original trophy has no more room for names. It has been kindly donated by the USA Olympiad, and UKLO is proud to be its first recipient. It’s still in production, but its centrepiece will be the astonishing Rosetta Wearable Disk shown in the picture (which contains The Preamble to the Universal Declaration of Human Rights in 327 languages and the Swadesh vocabulary lists assembled by the PanLex Project in 719 languages).

  • Teams K and U: Honourable Mention for the team competition.

2016, Mysore, India – See the official list of results

  • Samuel Ahmed (King’s College School Wimbledon): Gold!
  • Liam McKnight (Magdalen College School): Gold! and one Best Answer
  • Isobel Voysey (Westminster School): Bronze
  • AND for our team:  Bronze

2015 Blagoevgrad, Bulgaria – See the official list of results

  • Samuel Ahmed (King’s College School Wimbledon): Gold!
  • Anthony Bracey (Abingdon School): Silver
  • Liam McKnight (Magdalen College School): Gold!
  • Naomi Solomons (Forest school): Bronze
  • Harry Taylor (Magdalen College School): Honourable mention
  • Isobel Voysey (Westminster School): Honourable mention
  • Stephanie Wong (Headington School): Honourable mention
  • AND our West Team (Anthony, Liam, Harry, Stephanie) won the team competition!

2014 Beijing

  • Ellie Warner (Burgess Hill School for Girls): Gold!!!! (Our first ever!)
  • Alastair Carr (King’s College School): Honorable mention

2013 Manchester

  • Omri Faraggi, Abingdon School  –  Silver Medal
  • Harry Goodhew, Dulwich College  – Honorable Mention
  • Neema Kotonya, Lancaster Girls’ Grammar school – Honorable Mention
  • Daniel Pitt, Harrow School – Honorable Mention
  • Theo  Tindall,  Westminster School – Honorable Mention
  • Elysia Warner, Burgess Hill School for Girls – Honorable Mention

2012 Ljubljana

  • Melanie Duncan (James Allen’s Girls’ School): Bronze
  • Omri Faraggi (Abingdon School): Bronze
  • Baichuan Li (Highgate School): Bronze
  • Tom White (Winchester College): Silver

2011 Pittsburgh

  •  Nik Moore (John Leggott College, Scunthorpe): Bronze
  • Piotr Gałuszka (Worth School, Turners Hill): Honourable Mention

2010 Stockholm

  • Younus Porteous (Westminster School): Bronze
  • Nathan Somers (Manchester Grammar School): Best solution
  • Craig Bohrson (Manchester Grammar School): Honourable Mention
  • Carl Rietschel (Westminster School): Honourable Mention

2009 Wrocław

  • Ben Caller (Manchester Grammar School): Bronze